Huawei E169G on Ubuntu 8.04

Huawei E169G 3.5G HSDPA USB dongle equipped with 7.2Mbps download and 2Mbps upload speed.  The Ubuntu 8.04 kernel recognized it as Huawei E620.  To make this toy to work with Ubuntu 8.04?  It is very easy.

Download a software namely “Vodafone Mobile Connect Card driver for Linux” and plug in the device before executing the program.  The program reads the device as E660A.  Key in the following in the profile.

As I am using 3 (http://www.three.com.hk), the following suits for 3 Hong Kong only.

APN : ipc.three.com.hk
DNS : 202.45.84.67 and 202.45.84.68

If you encountered the Firefox 3 beta 5 offline, you can make it online by the following steps :

Choose “Tools” on the Firefox >> “Add-ons” >> “Get Add-ons” >> “Go online”

That’s all.  Enjoy Linux everywhere!

Updated on 2008-June-22 :

Recently, the website that hosts the Vodafone Mobile Connect Card driver for Linux cannot be reached for unknown reason. I searched for the Google to look for an alternative solution. “Salutis” from Ubuntu forum created a program namely “salutis-connect” for the Hauwei E220. I tested it on my E169G and it is running perfectly. Surprisingly, NO setting is required. Just plug in and play.

Setup :

sudo -s

echo deb http://repository.salutis.sk/production ./ >> /etc/apt/sources.list

apt-get update

apt-get install salutis-connect

Instructions :

# Connect your Huawei E200 or E169G device to USB port.
# Click on ‘Salutis Connect’ icon in ‘Applications->Internet’ menu section and enjoy.
# To disconnect the device, click on ‘Salutis Connect’ again and the device will be disconnected.

Thanks Salutis!!!!

6 Responses

  1. […] Updated on 2008-04-23 : Or, make it simple, please refer to Huawei E169G on Ubuntu 8.04 […]

  2. I just got the E169G from 3 HK too.

    It is pretty straight forward as the modem is recognized immediately by the vodafone mobile connect driver 2.0beta2/3 on ubuntu 8.04.

    One thing I notice that is I have to enter *99# on the username and password field in order for it to get a successful connection. I took me some time to figure that out…

  3. mochatotochan,

    I am using 1.99.17 instead of 2.0 beta. Thank you for your information.

  4. Hey, thanks for the info. It helped a lot!

    For Three Ireland: Username *99# Passwd *99# APN 3ireland.ie
    It can sometimes take a few tries but you’ll get in.

    The only problem I’m having is that 9/10 times I try to open the vodafone driver it tells me that the device is not properly registered. If I keep plugging it out and back in it’ll work eventually but it’s beginning to grate on me. Has anyone else experienced this problem? (I’m using Ubuntu Hardy)

  5. It looks like umtsmon works much better than the vodafone driver. I can’t get connection with the vodafone driver 2/3 of the time. Umtsmon works much better for me.

    I still have to use the usb_modeswitch to get the /dev/ttyUSB* devices created when hotplugging the stick. This is the command I run everytime I plugin the stick. Usually, I need to run it a couple
    of times to get the ttyUSB devices generated.

    usb_modeswitch -v 12d1 -p 1001

    BTW, I’m trying to get a smartone-vodafone usb stick on the same setup to work but no luck yet. There are some wired messages generated by kppp as soon as I start the connection.

  6. great guide,
    even I have written a guide on using Huawei e169g in Ubuntu Linux on my blog http://crazyaboutubuntu.wordpress.com/huawei-e169g-hsdpa-usb-stick-on-ubuntu/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

