OpenSUSE on IBM ThinkPad T23

I installed OpenSUSE 10.3 on IBM ThinkPad T23 which is not equipped with WiFi.

It is running smoothly except for the Traditional Chinese fonts. It caused the some problems on Firefox. However, it can be fixed by installing the fonts (odosung and uming) at http://software.opensuse.org/search.

OpenSUSE is equipped with Java and Flash. It is quite user-friendly. However, some WiFi drivers should be installed yourselves compared with Ubuntu 7.04.

I installed OpenSUSE because of the fact that Lenovo will sell her products that pre-installed with Novell SUSE. I want to buy a Lenovo ThinkPad T61 with pre-installed Linux.

2 Responses

  1. Hi. I’ve been trying to install 10.3 on my T23, but I keep getting checksum errors and package errors. Did you have to do anything to avoid this? I’m trying to install KDE first, GNOME later.

    I’m a Linux noobie…

    Thanks!

    Regards,
    Alan Ezarik

  2. Hi aezarik,

    Your OpenSuSE DVD is corrupted. Try to download it again.

    Samiux

Leave a Reply

