HOWTO : Ubuntu eee on ASUS Eee PC 701

Ubuntu eee comes with Netbook Remix and it is very user-friendly. I installed Ubuntu eee on my ASUS Eee PC 701 and all the function keys are workable. The speaker, mic, webcam and wireless work flawlessly.

Now, I want to do some tweaking on my Ubuntu eee box.

Step 0 :
Install the Ubuntu eee on your Es accordingly. The installation is quiet straight forward.

Step 1 :
sudo nano /boot/grub/menu.lst

add “elevator=noop” at the end of the kernel tag.

Step 2 :
sudo nano /etc/fstab

add “noatime” at the following line (the content may be different to me) :
UUID=b151a69-....1d865 / ext3 noatime,relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1

Step 3 :
add the following lines at the end of /etc/fstab.

tmpfs /var/log/apt tmpfs defaults 0 0
tmpfs /var/log tmpfs defaults 0 0
tmpfs /tmp tmpfs defaults 0 0
tmpfs /var/tmp tmpfs defaults 0 0

Step 4 :
Make it like this.

Just only 5 steps to make your Es working flawlessly and smoothly.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment